I have asked him on his setup, here is what he told me:

It reminded me very much of a custom Filofax arrangement I made in the mid-nineties – right down to the binder-clip. Fast forward to a month ago and I went to my local stationery superstore to buy some 3×5 cards and found they only stocked lined cards. Which meant Douglas Johnston’s excellent templates looked terrible when printed on them. I also noticed that the HPDA templates seemed to suit people with tiny handwriting… Not my large and ugly scrawl. So I designed a series of “Bare Bones” 3×5 GTD templates in Microsoft Word that would actually work with the feint ruled lines on the cards as well as allow space for my unwieldy scribbles. And as a tribute to all those old filing card systems – and to continue the retro groove – I designed the templates using an old typewriter font. Bare Bones Hipster PDA & Binder – [Simon @ Digital Zoo] Easy. Copies of the templates can be downloaded from: http://www.digitalzoo.com.au/bbhpda/

Hipster PDA in Simon style - 18Hipster PDA in Simon style - 52Hipster PDA in Simon style - 77Hipster PDA in Simon style - 88Hipster PDA in Simon style - 80Hipster PDA in Simon style - 9Hipster PDA in Simon style - 97Hipster PDA in Simon style - 81